Review: House of Chaos by Sarai Henderson

Posted on

31973003._UY2700_SS2700_Sixteen years ago, Tabri showed up in the mountains an orphaned child with the magic of the Chaotics running through her veins. She survived the bitter winter, the wrath of a yeti, and mutinied on the flying pirate ship Stallings, but then the Madnesi came.

Nell’s Furyon bloodline and elemental magic make her the perfect warrior. Perfect to revenge her sister’s death at the hand of a Madnesi Lord, to defend the Chaotic until her magic fully emerges and to defeat the masses of rotting undead who threaten the survival of the Wilders. If only there was more time in the day.

The Earth Stone has given the two companions a path to safety, but Tabri’s magic is on the fritz and Nell has completely lost her mind with grief. Can they hold it together long enough to allow Chaos to shine a light in the darkness, or will the Madnesi destroy all magic in the world along with the prophecy?


Genre: Young Adult, Fiction
My rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Thank you to Netgalley for providing this copy in exchange for a honest review

Add this book on Goodreads

This review contains no spoilers

After reading the description of this book I thought I would really enjoy reading this, but unfortunately that wasn’t the case. The idea and storyline behind the book sounds really good but I feel like the book could have been written better.

It took me a long time to read this book because for some reason I just couldn’t get into it. I would have gotten to know the characters better but there are barely any backstories to the characters. Tabri also forms relationship with the characters really fast while she doesn’t really get to know them. I feel like the book would be a lot better with a better description of the characters she meets.
The events in this book also happen too fast, everything happens in just a couple of days and for some reason that just feels very unrealistic. I feel like there could have been more breaks in the story. During those breaks you could have gotten to know the characters and the story better but unfortunately that didn’t happen.

I feel bad for only giving this book two stars, if the book was written differently I’m sure I would have liked it a lot better.

Leave a comment